i have a baton in my hand

it’s sacred
and powerful

and sometimes i forget i have it
shame on me

it’s old
heavy
and soiled

it’s rich with dreams
hopes
and fears

i have a baton in my hand
a champion’s baton

never can i
or will i stop running
fighting
living

every step
every tear
every drop of blood
and every gasp for air

gave it to me

every penny saved
every stitch sewn
every policy
and property paid for

insures my right to be here

i have a baton in my hand
and i have to

finish

to pass it on

images:

  • Ruby Bridges – Wikipedia.org
  • Middle Passage – whslavery.weebly.com
  • Lunchcounter Heroes – Veterans of the Civil Rights Movement
  • Addie Mae Collins, Carole Robertson, Cynthia Wesley, Denise McNair – YouTube.com
  • Emmett Till – ABC News
  • Malcolm X – Colorado State University

© 2016 candi dugas, llc

Leave a comment